Highlights

  • Delete a sent message from recipient’s device
  • Messages can be deleted only within a span of 7 minutes
  • All platforms are supported

WhatsApp was earlier reported to introduce a feature that will let the users delete or what company calls it ‘revoke’ a sent message from the recipient’s device, but was only available in beta builds. Now, we have got some good news for you, if you have faced embarrassment for sending a wrong text to a wrong person. The company has finally started rolling out the update to the public. The new update will allow the users to recall the sent message within a span of seven minutes. The message will be deleted from the receiver’s device and your’s as well.

How to Use ‘Delete for Everyone’ Feature

The company calls it ‘Delete for Everyone’ which is located under the delete messages option. The users will need to select the text they want to delete and then tap the trash icon. After which it is will display two entries – ‘Delete for Everyone’ and ‘Delete for Me’. The letter is currently available in the app and lets you delete that message for your device only. The new ‘Delete For Everyone’ feature will now let you delete a message from everyone’s devices and will be swapped with a note which says “You Deleted this message for everyone”.

WhatsApp
Photo Credit: WABetaInfo

The update is available in only a couple regions and will gradually be rolled out for other regions. The update is supported by all three major platforms including Windows Mobile, Android and iOS.

The feature is not limited only to text messages but you can also delete images, videos, GIFs, voice clips and other files too. WhatsApp also updates the notification on the recipient’s phone with a placeholder like ‘This message was deleted’. On iOS, however, the entire notification is revoked.

WhatsApp
Photo Credit: WABetaInfo

The feature also has its own limitations like it does not work with quoted messages, broadcast messages are also not supported as of now. Similar to its other features, WhatsApp has managed to enable the feature on previous versions as well. So you don’t need to worry if the other person is on the latest version or not.

If you are also among the few who have received the update, do let us know in the comments sctions below.

Previous

Now You Can Get A Samsung Galaxy S7 At Rs 29,990

Next

Apple iPhone X Pre-Orders Start On Flipkart And Amazon

FACEBOOK COMMENTS